You know one thing I love? Fruit. You know what makes it even better? Blending loads of different fruits together for an ultimate mash-up without the loathsome effort of actually having to chew a fruit salad.

Today I was in the mood for something a bit more tropical. Typically, blasts of berries are my favourite, the sweet strawberries juice and sharper raspberries make my ideal smoothie, but I figured why not give something else a go, and the drink I made today was 100% worth the change. The bite of the mango just came through, but wasn’t too overpowering.

Naturally, any of these proportions can be changed to suit your taste buds, but I would highly recommend the version that I made. Some quantities might need to be varied based on the size of the fruit. Anyway, here is my Tropical Summer Smoothie recipe:

Tropical Summer Smoothie

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Print

FullSizeRender (8)

Ingredients

200 ml fresh orange juice,
1 large banana,
1/3 mango,
1 slice melon of choice,
1 tbsp chia seeds

Directions

  1. Slice up banana into small chunks.
  2. Using a serrated knife, cut the mango around the stone and remove peel. Cut about a third into smaller pieces.
  3. Slice ends off of kiwi and remove skin. Slice into smaller chunks.
  4. Going from the pointier end of the melon, cut out a slice. Remove the skin and chop into smaller pieces.
  5. Add all of the fruit to the blender with the orange juice and chia seeds, blending continuously until it reaches your preferred consistency.
  6. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

Make sure to taste as you’re blending – if the taste is too strong, add a little water or more melon to dial it down, or if it’s not strong enough add some more mango, or maybe throw in a little pineapple.

If you tried this recipe, I’d love to hear your opinions down in the comments, or, better yet, take a photo and tag me on Instagram: @emmabird09

