This is truly a day I was never expecting to come. With physics this morning done and out of the way, the exam season is coming to a close, and I have finished school.

Not gonna lie, it feels kind of disappointing. I’d expected it to feel so much better when I strode through those blasted school gates this morning knowing I’d never have to return, after five years in that place and with twelve years of education under my belt. To be fair, I probably wasted all of it, with my dodgy performance in this past month of exams, but it was a little anticlimactic to just, well, leave. Perhaps the reality of my impending freedom still hasn’t sunk in, but the idea still seems one that’s incredibly far off to me.

After months of ‘revision’ (a.k.a. trying to keep up with Season 2 of SNK and failing miserably), and four weeks of exams that started by stressing me to the eyeballs and ended up in me lacking the capacity to care, I don’t think my numb reaction to the end of school is that unusual. But knowing that I don’t have to wake up at half six every morning for these last few weeks of the summer term here in the UK is playing with my head. Two and a half months before moving up to the sixth form? That can’t be right. And yet, it bloody well is.

So, while I probably will get around to finishing Attack On Titan now that I don’t have to pretend I’m studying (but tbh who knows, I’m a procrastinator), I don’t know what I’ll do to fill this time. Yes, I have the traditional family holidays (kinda), but the results day anticipation is building up. Already I’m feeling the stress, the knowing that I did fine, I must’ve, but wondering, deep down, did I really do enough to study my chosen A-Levels next year? Did I get the B in physics I need to study chemistry? Hell, did I get the A in chemistry that I need to study chemistry? Will I be grinning from ear-to-ear in 69 days time when I see those letters on a sheet of paper, or frowning and kicking myself for not doing well enough to go on with my life as I had intended?

Are any of you out there just done with your dreaded GCSEs? Tell me how you found them, and your feeling on ending school at last in the comments! I’d love to hear from you!

